Never on Sunday.

skyblue3
Homer: It’s extraordinary! Where do you learn all those languages?
Illya: In bed.

The Back Story.

My first thought with the Sky Blue Challenge was to pester a friend of mine to let me style  and shoot her. I knew she had something pretty good in her wardrobe, and was convinced that I had nothing in mine.

So, that’s what I did. Thanks to Miss Sudie (given her little moment in the sun below) I had a picture I was reasonably happy with within 24 hours of seeing next week’s assignment. But, I was flipping through the March issue of Vogue a few nights later; Lady Gaga was on the cover, but she ain’t got nuthin’ on Amber Valetta in her tres Mad Men inspired shoot, all sleek early 1960s, a sun-kissed mane of blond hair pulled back off her strong, dark brows. Love, love, love.

I started thinking about the pieces I have that would let me give a nod to that look in shades of blue. Navy pencil skirt – check. Little sky blue tank blouse – check. And right about that point, my mind’s eye went straight back to 1960 and Melina Mercouri in Never on Sunday as the fun-loving prostitute hanging out dockside at the Port of Athens in Pireus, Greece. I’ve always been drawn to that look, and my re-visioning of Amber took me right there.

Looking for the iconic outfit from that film – the one on the movie poster – I ran across a tremendous little blog called Pintuckstyle all about recreating vintage looks. “Awww-Sum,” exclaims Etoile in a singsongy voice. That site has a post titled – tah dah!How to dress like Ilya, Mercouri’s character in the film. Of course, I already know how to do that, but it was very cool seeing my smoldering little passion for that look, and particularly that pencil skirt/strappy blouse ensemble in the colors of the Greek flag, validated and shared.

skybluesit

Throwing on some simple earrings and my sweet-tooth Antidepressant shoes from Grim Bros, I hopped over to Athens, taking a few shots in the Plaka. That was all well and good, but we need a grungy, urban Mediterranean seaport sim, people. I did, however, find a tramp steamer for recreating something of the iconic Mercouri shot on another sim.

skybluestand

The Goods.

  • Hair: Iruco – gift02 – 0L + booN – URC519 in black – 0L (former group gift)
  • Skin: Tuli – Sayuri
  • Earrings: Sigma – Baquette earrings – 0L (former hunt item)
  • Top: Jane – Intrinsic tank – 0L
  • Skirt: Phoenix Rising – Pencil Skirt – 1L mix box
  • Shoes: Grim Bros. – Antidepressant Blue Heels
  • Locations: Athens & Drowning Tor

Color indicates item still available at this price.

And, finally, thank you Sudie Dibou
skybluesudie3

Sudie’s Goods.
Hair: Dura – Akira – 0L (store hunt item)
Skin: Pulse – Harmony, freckled
Glasses: Maschienenwerk – Wayfarer Glasses – 0L
Sweater: Icing – Robot Love Bolero – part of past group gift
Dress: Jetdoll – Cherie – 99L
Shoes: Baby Monkey – Saddle Shoe – 10L
Location: Fin Rocket Diner

Color indicates item still available at this price as of post date.

9 thoughts on “Never on Sunday.

  1. Pingback: Sheep and rain and such. | sletoile

  2. WOW,WOW,WOW!!! Love your interpretation!! Mine was Elizabeth Taylor in the movie Butterfield 8. You struck a creative nerve in me my dear, I see some research in my very near future.

    Great job, BEAUTIFUL!

Leave a Reply

