Dirty Girl.


Location: la galerie.

The Back Story.

A while back, blogger Mackenzie Irling (Rummagings) posted a challenge to the SL fashion play blog-o-sphere, called Bloggers We Love. The idea was to get bloggers to ask a favorite blogger to blog with them for a week in one great blogging orgy love fest. I had barely started with this whole thing at that time,  nobody knew me from Adam, and I barely knew a ‘smudge’ from a ‘Gaussian blur’ in Photoshop. Like, I was going to ask some fashion play hot shot to blog with me… not, says Wayne.

I don’t think I’d have the gumption to do it now, either, but Aubergine Surgarplum is in the top cluster of my watch list with her site, Au revoir aubergines. Her styling is wacky and clever. She’s adept at taking bits and pieces of various garments, accessories, props and whatever else she finds, and working them into coherent ensembles. Every time I look at a new post, I sit here chewing on my pinky nail and thinking, “How the heck did she come up with that idea…?”

And then there’s her composition and editing skills. They are absolutely killer. She didn’t hatch from the egg that way, of course. Going back to her earliest entries, one can see the evolution of her technique in her SL oeuvre (I do love making all this sound like a grand, intellectual exercise, and I think one can make the argument that it is, at the risk of sounding like a bubble-headed prat to one segment of humanity and a pretentious one to the rest).

Anyway, back to me, I decided to play around with some shots using mostly things picked up at the latest Seasons Hunt clusterf&%k (it was crazy in there, folks, but the group chat was entertaining), and with Aubergine as inspiration, right down to shooting at a location she used. I have a long way to go, and there are certain elements of her style that I’ll probably not pick up and embrace as my own. I appreciate the Mooqla doll, ‘ugly chic’ anti-aesthetic as a form of style politics; a rejection of dull ‘prettiness’, and a ridiculing of bodily ‘perfection’ through the distortions of the pelvic floor, the bowed legs, the pigeon-toed large feet. I like getting some flaws into my avatar — no sculpted glamazon look for me, thank you very much — but I’m too aesthetically wedded to (dependent upon?) plain old ‘prettiness’ to take my play there. But kudos to Aubergine for doing the look with such creativeness and technical skill.  There’s a lot of that horse-shoe pelvis, pouty girl stuff on the grid these days, but I wouldn’t give most of it much praise.

So, yeah. Here’s me trying my hand at more or less the look and feel of one of my favorite fashion play bloggers. My computer just can’t handle the viewers that do shadows well, alas, so I’m limited in the technology, in addition to the raw skill set.

The Goods.

  • Hair: Plume – Spring in “soil” – 0L (Seasons Hunt item)
  • Skin: Mother Goose’s – Devon – former hunt item
  • Makeup (dirt): Miss Shippe’s – Digging in the Dirt – 0L (Seasons Hunt item)
  • Top: SMS – Satin Flower in “peach” – 0L (Seasons Hunt item)
  • Skirt: Fall Into Decay – Spring skirt – 0L (Seasons Hunt item)
  • Hip Bag: Bukka – Leather Bag – 0L (group gift)
  • Bird’s Nest w/ pose: Tiny Bird – Sky Might Fall (eggs recolored) – 0L (Seasons Hunt item)
  • Flowers (on arms): Long Awkward Pose (LAP) – Spring Alive – 0L (Seasons Hunt item)
  • Pipe: Quazar Panthar (QP) – Apple Pipe, sand blast finish – 50L
One thought on “Dirty Girl.

  1. Pingback: Imatation of [s]life | sletoile

Leave a Reply

